Skip to content

Soderling downs Djokovic

November 25, 2009

Soderling remained focussed against a fatigued Djokovic

Robin Soderling qualified for the semi-finals of the ATP World Tour Finals in London with victory over reigning champion Novak Djokovic.

In the tournament as a last-minute replacement for the injured Andy Roddick, the Swede followed his win over world number two Rafael Nadal with an equally impressive display against the world number three.

After a tight first set, Djokovic fell apart in the second to allow Soderling to ease into the semis.

“I won two matches in straight sets against the world number two and three. I couldn’t have asked for anything more,” said the 25-year-old. “I knew for a pretty long time that I would at least be the first alternate here and so I prepared as if I was going to play. It doesn’t really matter if I’m world number one or first alternate, I still want to win every match.”

Djokovic, winner of 17 of his last 18 matches, looked tired and bereft of ideas. “I didn’t enjoy playing today’s match that’s for sure,” he said. “He was serving really well and all credit to him. He won four straight sets and absolutely deserved to qualify for the semi-finals. I think he’s the best player so far in the tournament.”

Rafael Nadal plays Nikolay Davydenko tonight. Both players suffered defeat in their opening game so this is a must win game for both players.

Leave a Reply

