Skip to content

Davydenko pips Djokovic to semi-final place

November 27, 2009

Nikolay Davydenko battled hard to defeat Robin Soderling

Nikolay Davydenko overcame Robin Soderling in three sets to qualify for the semi-finals of the ATP World Tour Finals.

The result means that reigning champion Novak Djokovic, who dispatched the beleaguered Rafael Nadal earlier in the day, is out.

Soderling’s victories over both Djokovic and Nadal meant that he had already qualified for the last four, where he will play Juan Martin Del Potro.

Davydenko faces world number one Roger Federer in tomorrow’s other semi-final – a man he has never beaten.

After the exit of Andy Murray yesterday, the O2 Arena was decidedly low-key for the remaining matches in Group B.

Davydenko snatched a tight first set on a tie-break, before Soderling leveled after a wobble from the Russian. The Swede’s performance disintegrated in the final set to hand Davydenko a 7-6 4-6 6-3 win.

Djokovic admitted he was 'exhausted'

Earlier, Novak Djokovic battled his own fatigue and a seemingly even more exhausted Rafael Nadal in a 7-6 6-3 win. The Spaniard made the first set competitive but injuries meant he fell away in the second.

Djokovic admitted after the match that he had run out of energy. “I’m not saying I’m dead tired, I’m saying I’m exhausted from the season,” he said. “And I think you don’t need confirmation from my face to see that. I think it’s obvious on the court that I’m not moving and I’m not that energetic as I was maybe in Paris or Basel.

“Still, I managed to get two out of three wins. If I finish the season now, I will be very happy to finish in this way and just hope to rest well for 2010.”

Despite not winning a set at the tournament, Rafael Nadal remained positive. “This tournament gave me the opportunity to see what I have to do to play better and to start the next year better,” said the Spaniard.

“I need to play more aggressive with the forehand, recover my forehand winner and my rhythm on the forehand. When I am playing well with the forehand, the backhand is going to improve a lot.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. tenniscoachdave permalink
    November 28, 2009 1:52 am

    These have been good matches to watch! Daveydenko has unbelievable footwork~ I like it when points are longer like on clay, but the addition of transition tennis to these matches have been fun to watch.

Leave a Reply

