Skip to content

Davydenko ends the season with a flourish

November 29, 2009

Nikolay Davydenko enjoys the moment as he claims the ATP World Tour Finals title

Nikolay Davydenko claimed the season-ending ATP World Tour Finals title with victory over Juan Martin Del Potro.

The 28-year-old Russian, conquerer of Roger Federer in the semi-finals, beat the Argentine 6-3 6-4 in front of a packed O2 Arena.

Del Potro appeared to be suffering the after-effects of his epic semi-final win over Robin Soderling and was unable to trouble the ever-consistent Davydenko.

This is the biggest tournament win of Davydenko’s career, and he becomes the first Russian to achieve the feat. Victory was especially sweet as the world number seven lost last year’s final to Novak Djokovic.

Del Potro admitted afterwards he hadn’t got to bed until 3am on Saturday night after his semi-final. “I had the day off before the semis and Nikolay plays Friday to Saturday, so it’s different,” he said. “But he played unbelievable tennis, he beat me in a good way.”

Davydenko admitted he was shocked at the ease with which he was able to dispatch Del Potro. “I was surprised to win 6-3 6-4, one hour and 20 minutes,” he said. “Before I’d played three-set matches, mostly two hours. I came in from the first point with 100% concentration. Before the match I was so tired, I was scared about how I would start the match, how I could play against Del Potro.

“And really from the beginning, I won my first serve, felt positive and was fighting every game, every point, and thought maybe I can win.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

